Being Vegan Does Not Make You Better Than Anyone Else.

It seems in the last two years or so that veganism has become the ‘trendy’ thing. I say that in the least patronising way possible.

More and more people are trying and failing and trying to become vegan. I’m the first to admit that I have tried being vegan and failed miserably after about 5 days. It is undeniably more expensive and in all honesty was an inconvenience to cook separate meals from everyone else in my house. Maybe if I wasn’t a student and I lived alone it’d be more plausible as I’d be able to justify paying £3 for about 4 slices of vegan cheese. Even then, I still probably wouldn’t stick it out and if I did, it would be more of a ‘part-time’ thing.

thumbnail_FullSizeRender
I’m not belittling this movement/lifestyle/whatever you want to call it at all. I have several vegan friends and I whole-heartedly support their choices. In all honesty, I think many many years down the line that the majority of people will be vegan. The health benefits are evident and the moral argument is clear for all to see.

But it’s not for everyone and being vegan doesn’t make you better than anyone else.
I am by no means stereotyping and I do believe I am speaking about the minority of the vegan ‘community’ when I say I am sick of seeing vegans harassing and attacking others over their lifestyle choices. It would seem that a certain few think veganism is some kind of path to self-righteousness. I get it. Vegans are extremely passionate – it’s a way of life and it is not an easy lifestyle change to make. However, there’s a very fine line between passion and sanctimony.

From what I’ve seen online, through forums, websites, speeches, YouTube channels and organisations such as PETA, it’s apparent that the vegan lifestyle is very much all or nothing kind of show. The whole vegan ‘mission’ across the board seems particularly aggressive. And in all honesty, I think that is veganism’s downfall. Showing non-vegan’s graphic images and videos of slaughterhouses is meant to shock and generate guilt.

Telling non-vegans that they are eating ‘hen periods’ and drinking ‘cow tit fluids’ and eating ‘corpse flesh’ is meant to make them second guess their diet. It is easy to see why people won’t give veganism a chance – they’re being made to feel bad about something they’ve likely done for the majority of their lives. Some people just don’t give a f*ck what they’re eating or where it comes from and that is something that people need to accept. Shaming people for eating a certain way is not going to get more people on the band wagon. In fact, it is more likely to make them turn their back on the whole idea.

Without a doubt, a more helpful/informative approach would encourage more people to embrace the vegan lifestyle or at least try it out. Freelee the Banana Girl, Durian Rider or That Vegan Couple and thousands of other vegan personalities on the internet shaming people through a screen isn’t helpful. PETA sending out emails with video links of slaughterhouses isn’t helpful. Guilt tripping people is not effective. Vegans need to establish a more welcoming approach. Sharing recipes that don’t contain animal products is helpful, sharing lists of vegan and cruelty free products and listing where they’re available to be purchased is helpful, sharing stories of ‘journeys to becoming vegan’ is helpful.

Encouragement is effective. People don’t deserved to be attacked for their personal choices – choosing not to eat or use any animal products doesn’t mean you’re a good or superior person. Just the same way that choosing to eat or use animal products doesn’t mean you’re a bad person.

Leigh.

7 thoughts on “Being Vegan Does Not Make You Better Than Anyone Else.

  1. I totally agree!! I’m vegan, but I’m so tired of the fact that it’s a ‘thing’ now. Then again, I’m also tired of people telling me we need meat because of our teeth or something like that. I accept your choices, please accept mine as well.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Exactly! I think its a battle that will never end! Everyone should be allowed to do what they want! Oh god that sounds so annoying, it must be as bad as the whole ‘where do you get your protein from?’ Thing! Thanks for reading! X

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Very well said. self-righteousness is not showing campassion. I do feel like Freelee and Durianrider have a place in the vegan movement though because Freelee is the one who inspired me to go vegan. It just depends on the person what will get through to them. I’m sorry to say that, after going vegan, I tried that approach too. For like a minute. I saw how most people responded and also how it made me feel. It was just anger and negativity all around. So now I stick to a more positive and, like you said, helpful approach. I think living by example is the best way for people to see the greatness that veganism has to offer.

    On a side note, you mentioned in the beginning that veganism is expensive. Veganism can be the cheapest diet out there. It’s all the processed vegan food that’s so expensive (and you don’t want to be eating that all the time anyways). Bananas, potatoes, rice, beans. They are all SO inexpensive. Not saying that you would do this, but here’s an example. If you were to eat only bananas, let’s say 25 bananas a day (2,500 calories), it would cost you $7.25 to feed yourself for a whole day (organic bananas at Trader Joe’s are $0.29 a piece). Again, not that you would only eat bananas, it just shows how cheap plant foods are!

    Thanks for letting me go on and on 🙂
    Check out my blog if you’re interested. It’s tips and recipes for new vegans and anyone thinking abut going vegan.

    Like

  3. I definitely agree with your message here. I’ve been vegan for about five months now, and it’s been very difficult to accept that I can’t change the minds of everyone around me. I make vegan dinners for my boyfriend, and he doesn’t care as long as it tastes good, so I lucked out in that regard. I’ve come to the conclusion that all I can do is live my life compassionately and responsibly. The same goes for my political beliefs. You can’t make someone care about civil rights by screaming at them.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am vegan also and I understand your point of view. There are extremists within every sub culture that make us all look bad because they are the loudest, unfortunately. You mention PETA. They are a real example. I just live and let live ✌🏻️Carry on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

