Goodbye 2016.

I’m currently sat on the sofa wrapped in two blankets, wearing two hoodies and the heating is up at 20 degrees. I’m nursing my third Beechams of the day and I’m rifling my way through packets of Strepsils like there’s no tomorrow. I’m ill. I have been since Christmas eve and I don’t see this clearing up soon no matter whatever remedy I try. I was going to write a little about what I got up to over Christmas but I’ve done nothing other than die of the flu and haven’t left the house other than to go to the pharmacy on boxing day – a whole five minute walk from my house. Joy. So I’ve decided to do a little 2016 round up.

2016 has been a funny old year. Just about everybody died, Donald Trump became president of the Unites States (I still can’t get my head around this), Brexit was a thing that kind of still is a thing dwindling away like lost cause and DiCaprio FINALLY got his Oscar. The world lost its shit over a gorilla and ADULTS started playing pokemon again (why, I’ll never understand).

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-11-49-55

For me, it’s not been all that bad. I passed second year of university with distinction and passed my driving test (even if it was on a 2nd attempt). I travelled to Barcelona, Belfast and Amsterdam and visited parts of Scotland that I’ve never been to before. I met my amazing boyfriend and I have never felt so happy and content. I got some new tattoos and started a new blog that I’ve surprisingly stuck to for a change. I quit my part-time job to focus on a busy year at uni, bagged myself an internship that I love and life is good. Life is really good.

I don’t wanna say that 2016 was ‘my year’. In fact, I really f*cking hate when people say ‘I’m gonna make this year my year’. You can’t own a year – you can simply choose to enjoy it and make the most of whatever the year dishes out to you. I’d say 2016 has been a pretty damn good year for me for the most part. Nothing horrendous happened to me (except this flu that I can’t shift – seriously, I’m that fed up) and I feel like I’ve achieved a lot. In the grand scheme of things, it’s probably been one of my favourite years which doesn’t seem to be the case with a lot of people. I’ve seen a lot of people across my social media platforms wishing the year away – it seems like the kind of popular thing to be doing but I won’t be a part of it.

And so, to 2017. A year that I’m going to take as it presents itself to me – just like any other year. I’ve already made a lot of exciting plans and I’m curious to see what lies ahead. I want to travel, try new things and make more memories and I plan to document them here. Without sounding too clichéd, there is something so cathartic about fresh starts and new beginnings. I’m probably not setting resolutions because I won’t stick to them and nobody does after the 4th of January – kale is disgusting, when I drink my 2 litres of water a day I need to pee every five minutes and I’m too lazy to go to the gym everyday. I won’t wash my make up brushes once a fortnight and I won’t eat my five a day or get my 8 hours sleep each night. I will however set myself some goals that I would like to achieve but I won’t be kicking myself if I don’t.

I hope you have a wonderful 2017 – a prosperous and exciting one, filled with lots of happy memories and nice things.

Leigh.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Goodbye 2016.

Leave a Reply

