Goals for 2017.

I never wrote a resolutions post. I don’t like them, I don’t keep them. I do however like making goals – the term goals seems much less daunting and a lot more positive than ‘resolution’ that I know I won’t stick to. I feel more determined to achieve them if I write them down, so I’m writing them here.

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-13-44-15

Read more: I love reading. I truly love it but I never make time for it. I’d excuse my lack of reading with ‘I’ve been bogged down with academic university reading’ but I don’t even do that. I’m aiming to read at least one book per month. I’ve a bunch lined up that I’m excited to get cracking with.

Spend less time on Social Media: I spend my life scrolling endlessly on Instagram and Twitter. As much as it is a guilty pleasure, I spend too much time on there and it’s not productive. There is so much bullshit on social media sites – a break from the internet is always good for the soul.

Try new places to eat all the time: I’m a creature of habit. If I like a restaurant, I go back time and time again. This year I want to try new places with a whole variety of cuisines, finding new foods that I love. I have a few in mind that I am desperate to try and can’t wait to work my way through them all – food is everything.

Get back into hiking: I love hiking – any rainy or weekend in my childhood, we donned the waterproofs and my dad dragged us out on family hikes. I hiked a lot in 2015 and I really miss doing it, it’s such an easy way to work out as it targets the full body. I’m going to research some routes and get back into it.

Stop spending money on ‘stuff’: I’m the world’s worst hoarder, I buy ‘stuff’ that I don’t always necessarily need. I buy clothes that hang unworn in my wardrobe, I find it months later with the tags still attached. I plan to save some money this year and if I do spend it, I’d rather spend it on making memories than buying ‘things’ that I probably won’t use.

Go to the gym at least 3 times a week: heading back to uni and interning is going to take up most of my time but my gym membership card is gathering dust and I want to put it to good use. I want to make a conscious effort to go to the gym at least 3 times every week and maintain some kind of fitness routine. Much like reading, I don’t ever make time for exercise but I want to change than this year.

What are your goals for this year?

Leigh.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Goals for 2017.

  1. Hey lovely, great post! Just to let you know I’ve nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award. Feel free to check it out and complete it yourself ☺️x 
https://pippaposts.wordpress.com/2017/01/19/blogger-recognition-award/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

