An honest chat about the blogging community.

blogging, Uncategorized

It’s almost been a month since I’ve posted anything on my blog and I’d love to tell you that I’ve been super busy recently and that I’ve just not had any time to blog whatsoever. I’d love to tell you that I have so many exciting posts scheduled. But I’d be lying.

My excuse, to put it simply, is that I’ve lost my way. I think a lot of people have.

I pride myself on not filling my blog with the same stuff as everyone else. I don’t say that to sound like a total prick. ย I don’t have a niche and I’m fine with that. I’ve pigeon-holed my blogs in the past and being restricted to being solely a ‘beauty blog’ or a ‘fashion blog’ makes blogging a bit of a chore. Little 17 year old beauty blogger me was completely blind-sided when I realised I was just writing the same regurgitated reviews as everyone else.

Blogging is completely different to how it was five years ago. It genuinely hurts my heart that some of my favourite blogs to read are now just full of sponsored content. I hate to describe people as ‘sell outs’ but I feel like I’m left with no other option. I get it, build your brand, make some money, get free stuff to review, that’s cool, but it shouldn’t entirely consume your blog and what it was originally about. Nobody started reading your blog in the beginning because of your free meal in a restaurant that you reviewed. They read it because you wrote in your own style about your own life, thoughts and feelings.

Screen Shot 2017-07-17 at 10.58.05

I started my first blog when I was sixteen. It was a creative outlet for me while I was sitting exams and trying to get into university. I fell in love with the people I was chatting to on Twitter, Instagram and in the comment sections on blog posts. I felt involved. Almost five years later, I feel like the blogging world is completely saturated with a handful of big name players being the only ones that anyone cares enough about to follow. I don’t feel like it’s inclusive anymore. It feels like one big competition with everyone trying to out do each other and if you don’t have a niche, you’re not relevant.

I don’t get involved in Twitter chats, Follow Fridays, or go to meet ups or events. And you’re probably thinking ‘no wonder you don’t feel involved, you don’t try to get involved. I don’t. Because I have tried it in the past and I don’t feel welcome and I guarantee, so many other bloggers feel the same. I’m not trying to portray bloggers who do participate as ‘bad’ people but I feel like the whole community has become quite cliquey and almost elitist. The big beauty bloggers have their own tribe, the popular fashion bloggers stick together and so do the foodies. And I find that really sad.

Screen Shot 2017-07-17 at 11.06.07

I’m not trying to shit all over established bloggers. I have a handful of favourites that I read religiously because their content is varied and it really does interest me.ย More and more people are quitting their jobs to become full-time bloggers and truthfully, I think that’s amazing. Working with brands, working from home and being your own boss sounds brilliant. I don’t have anything against the bloggers who do that but don’t forget where you came from. Your first few followers were there because they liked you for you before sponsored content was involved. They liked reading your authentic content.

At present, I feel like I kind of don’t know where I’m going with my blog and I’m lacking in inspiration. I feel like too many people in the community are trying to shout their names all while writing about the exact same things.

I’m not going to quit blogging. I love it the same way I did when I was still in high school. I’m not going to bend my blog and my writing style to force myself into a mould that makes me appealing to brands and I’m certainly not going force myself to fit into a ‘community’ to try and build my following either.

What do you think about blogging? Do you think it’s changed over the recent years? I want to know your thoughts!!

Leigh.

 

3 thoughts on “An honest chat about the blogging community.

  1. over the last ten years I tried blogging again and again and I always got to the same point of feeling not being part of a bigger picture. I tried to get involved with others but they look at your following and shut you down if it is not enough! your post kind of reflects exactly how I feel sometimes about all of this! thanks for sharing, at least I know I am not on my own! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I couldn’t have said it better myself! They want you to at least match their following but never overtake it! I really enjoy blogging but I feel like it’s pretty cut throat right now. I’m glad it’s not just me who feels this way ๐Ÿ™‚. Thank you so much for reading and commenting x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for this post! I’m really new to blogging. I tried it first about a year ago and ended up hating it really quickly because I was trying to model my blog off others and it became very ‘fluffy and didn’t feel like me at all. But I sort of drifted back to it recently and realised I could do what I wanted with MY blog. I’m not in it for money, I just want to get used to writing and my own writing style. I’ve been getting into blogging communities on Facebook and Twitter to try and learn a bit about blogging but I’ve very quickly realised that a lot of it is quite shallow and just looking for likes and views and follows. I’ve luckily found some that are more about sharing views and opinions and I’ve come across some great blogs through them but I’ve stepped back from the threads and like-for-like stuff. This post has sort of reaffirmed all these feelings for me, great read ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Like

Leave a Reply

